Skip to content

The Council

The Research Reserve Community Council’s primary purpose and organization are guided by their charter with the Reserve.

The Council is tasked with fostering dialogue and recommendations between agencies, local governments, Research Reserve staff, researchers, environmental educators, conservation groups, and others interested in natural science research and education. Council members consist of local residents and agency representatives.

Council meetings are held on a quarterly basis but may occur more often as circumstances warrant. Meetings are open to the public and announced on this site’s home page.

The public is welcome to contact the Council at any time on issues pertaining to the Reserve.

Community members

The Council’s nine community members represent a wide range of research and education interests and perspectives from residents of the communities that surround Kachemak Bay. They serve two-year terms, the expiry date of which is listed following each name below. Vacancies of these seats are announced on this site’s home page. Council members also serve on the specialty committees that report back to the Council as a whole.
Donna Aderhold (2015) is a certified wildlife biologist who works as an Donna Aderholdenvironmental consultant specializing in federal and state regulatory issues and National Environmental Policy Act compliance. She is a 20-year resident of Alaska and has been enjoying Kachemak Bay since the 1980s. Her personal interests include outdoor adventures small and large, contributing to conservation projects from Alaska to Africa, and knitting.

Ralph Broshes
Ralph Broshes (2014) has been a practitioner of veterinary medicine since 1970, most recently in Homer where he has retired after 31 years of operating his own clinic. Today he does contract and volunteer work and enjoys living in Homer.

Derek Bynagle (2015) This council member has chosen not to share any personal background information.

Bob Hartley (2015) This council member has chosen not to share any personal background information.

James Hornaday, Vice Chair (2014) James Hornaday has lived in Alaska since 1964, practicing law in Kenai for more than a decade before serving as a judge in Alaska District Court.

Steve Lewis (2015) is a Seldovia resident who holds an engineering minor in PhysSteve Lewisical Oceanography and is also a member of the Board of Directors of the Prince William Sound Regional Citizen’s Advisory Council. He feels that knowledge of the ocean’s systems and their interactions is critical to the future of all of mankind, and is pleased to be doing work to foster current research and facilitate marine education. Also, as a personal bonus, he finds that being part of this group is simply fun!

George Matz, Chair (2015) is a Homer resident who has worGeorge Matzked in industry (laboratory instrumentation and environmental consulting), state government (mostly as budget and policy analyst) and non-profit conservation organizations. In addition to serving on the Community Council, he has served on the board for the Kachemak Bay Conservation Society, Homer Fish & Game Advisory Committee, and teaches a course in birding at the Kenai Peninsula College.

Michael OphMichael Opheimeim (2015) is the Environmental Coordinator for Seldovia Village Tribe and has had this position since 2003. Michael grew up in Seldovia and wants to make sure that some of the things he had as a child and now as an adult are there for the generations to come.

Charles Francies (2015) is a public affairs consultant based in Washington, D.C.  His firm, DCI Group,  which he helped found, represents such corporations as AT&T, Verizon, McDonald’s and ExxonMobil Corporation worldwide.   A native of Dallas , Texas, Francis began his experience of Alaska as an annual visitor.  Once he saw Homer (on a visit to the McNeill River Bear Sanctuary), he was moved to become a resident.   Francis serves on the Board of Directors of the Buffalo Bill Historical Center in Cody, Wyoming; and the Board of the W.H. Francis Foundation in Dallas, Texas.Agency members

The Council’s agency seats are held permanently by the following agencies, with individual appointments to those seats carried out by the agencies themselves. Agency seats are non-voting.

Ginny Litchfield, Alaska Department of Fish and Game, Division of Habitat

Kris Holderied, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration National Centers for Coastal Ocean Science

Brenda Konar, University of Alaska Fairbanks School of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences

Roger MacCampbell, Alaska Department of Natural Resources, Division of Parks and Outdoor Recreations

Carol Kerkvliet, Alaska Department of Fish and Game, Division of Sport Fisheries

Rebekah Jones, US Department of the Interior, National Park Service, Lake Clark

Marianne Aplin, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Alaska Maritime National Wildlife Refuge

Tim Stevens, Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation, Division of Water, Water Quality Standards, Assessment & Restoration

Tom Dearlove, Kenai Peninsula Borough, Coastal Management Zone Program

(vacant), US Environmental Protection Agency

(vacant), Alaska Department of Natural Resources, Divison of Mining, Land & Water


Community Council members and meeting attendees


%d bloggers like this: